Do you want to improve the world?

We were north of Pontevedra and it was raining hard.

“I’m in crisis,” Karen said. “I can’t go on.”

“What are you going to do?” I asked. “Let’s talk about this.”

She refused to answer and we continued walking. I told her about some hard times I have had in the past, times when I was exhausted but away from civilization.

I made a video while walking under a grape arbor.

A pilgrim passed by. “When God hands you a lemon, make lemonade,” she said, smiling. I think she was referring to my use of the rain within my video. I was using it for dramatic effect.

“Did you hear her?” I asked Karen.

“God gives out lemons but what about sugar,” she replied.  “You need sugar to make lemonade. We have plenty of water but no sugar.  God gives us rain but no sugar.”

.

I was quiet because I didn’t know how to respond right away.

“I find that sometimes a crisis can be resolved by drinking coffee,” I said. “As soon as we get to a cafe, I’ll get some coffee into you.”

We passed a stone cross. Religion helps some people but Karen isn’t into that. Then I had an idea. I suggested to Karen that we sing a song together.

I suggest that you join in. Our voices aren’t that good. We need your help to stay in key.

Here are the words:

You can’t roller skate in a buffalo herd.

You can’t roller skate in a buffalo herd.

You can’t roller skate in a buffalo herd.

but you can be happy if you put your mind to it.

All ya gotta do is just put your mind to it. [accidentally left out]

Knuckle down, bucket down. Do it, do it, do it!

Second verse:

You can’t take a shower in a parakeet cage.

You can’t take a shower in a parakeet cage.

You can’t take a shower in a parakeet cage.

But you can be happy if you put your mind to it.

All ya gotta do is just put your mind to it.

Knuckle down, buckle down. Do it, do it, do it!

We came upon a Spanish Guardia guy who was counting the pilgrims who passed, asking each one about his/her nationality. There is a time for everything. This is the time to see things as they are. There are many kinds of people in this world. We better accept them as they are.

Lao tsu writes (chapter 29):

“Do you want to improve the world?

I don’t think it can be done.

The world is sacred.

It can’t be improved.

If you tamper with it, you’ll ruin it.

If you treat it as an object, you ‘ll lose it.

There is a time for being ahead,

a time for being behind,,

a time for motion,

a time for being at rest,

a time for being vigorous,

a time for being exhausted,

a time for being safe,

a time for being in danger.

The Master sees things as they are,

without trying to control them.

She lets them go their own way

and resides at the center of the circle.”

Lao tsu was an old guy, walking to Tibet. I’m an old guy walking to Santiago. You don’t have to listen to either of us but In order for the song to work, you have to practice it. Let’s try this again.

Leave a Reply

